Three new members of the Seimas were sworn in in the parliament on Thursday following last Sunday's by-election in three single-member constituencies.
© DELFI / Andrius Ufartas

Paule Kuzmickiene of the conservative Homeland Union–Lithuanian Christian Democrats won the by-election in the capital's Zirmunai constituency and Rasa Petrauskiene, the other conservative, was elected in Gargzdai, in western Lithuania.

Social Democrat Liudas Jonaitis scored victory in the Ziemgala constituency covering the northern districts of Pakruojis and Joniskis and a part of Siauliai District.

The by-election was held just over a year before the next general election scheduled for October 2020 after three MPs elected in these constituencies won seats in the European Parliament.

It is prohibited to copy and republish the text of this publication without a written permission from UAB „BNS“.

Aviation bomb found and defused in Vilnius

An aviation bomb was found and later neutralized in the Zverynas area of Vilnius on Thursday night.

President pardons 2 Russian spies opening the way for swap with Moscow

President Gitanas Nauseda has granted pardons to two Russian citizens jailed in Lithuania for...

Skusevicius appointed ambassador to Canada

Lithuanian President Gitanas Nauseda on Thursday appointed Deputy Foreign Minister Darius Skusevicius...

MPs reject President Nauseda's second veto

The Lithuanian parliament overrode on Thursday a presidential veto on its decision to add two road...

Ambassadors to NATO and Russia recalled

President Gitanas Nauseda recalled on Wednesday Lithuania's ambassadors to Russia, NATO and UNESCO...