The Seimas of Lithuania has rejected the motion to award Conservative MEP Vytautas Landsbergis, a prominent leader of Lithuania's independence movement, with a prestigious Freedom Prize.
Vytautas Landsbergis
© DELFI / Šarūnas Mažeika

Landsbergis was the first head of state after Lithuania declared independence from the Soviet Union in 1990.

On Tuesday, the nomination by Conservative MP Irena Degutienė, chairwoman of the Commission of Freedom Prizes, was supported by 53 MPs, while 13 MPs voted against with 48 abstentions.

Following the voting, Degutienė resigned from the post of the Commission's chair and left the Commission along with liberal MP Dalia Kuodytė.

Freedom Prize is an annual prize awarded on January 13, the Freedom Defenders Day. The first such prize in 2011 was given to the Russian fighter for freedom and democracy Sergei Kovalev.

Polish public figure, one of the leaders of Poland's oppositional movement Solidarity, editor-in-chief of Poland's largest newspaper Gazeta Wyborcza, Adam Michnik was awarded with the Freedom Prize in 2014.

It is forbidden to copy the text of this publication without a written permission from ELTA.
Leave a comment
or for anonymous commenting click here
By posting, you agree to terms
Read comments Read comments

Foreign minister to meet with Ukraine's president-elect in Kiev

Lithuanian Foreign Minister Linas Linkevicius is starting on Thursday a visit to Kiev that includes...

Government approves ambassador to OECD

The Lithuanian government approved on Wednesday Lina Viltrakiene for the post of the country's...

Lithuania blacklists British Holocaust denier Irving

David Irving , a British historian convicted of denying the Holocaust , has been banned from...

Lithuania may blacklist Russian singer Leps

The Lithuanian Foreign Ministry proposes to blacklist Grigory Leps , a popular Russian singer...

Finance Minister promises to improve proposed budgeting proposal

Lithuanian Finance Minister Vilius Sapoka rejects criticism that the proposed new budgeting...