Lithuania is scheduled to open visa centres in seven countries, including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, China and Turkey, the country's Ministry of Foreign Affairs said on Wednesday.
E.Rupkaus nuotr.

Agreements on the establishment of the visa centres have been signed with the international tender winner VFS Global.

According to the ministry, key benefits of visa centres include a wider territorial coverage and accessibility, higher quality of services, longer working hours, the possibility to pay in local currencies and with credit cards, all services rendered in one place, easy early registration.

At the visa centres, visa applicants make a special payment of EUR 20-26, depending on the country. Lithuania's state budget does not incur any costs related to the establishment and activities of visa centres.

Foreign citizens will still be able to apply for Schengen visas at Lithuania's diplomatic representations and consular establishments in those countries.

Currently, Lithuania has 16 and 13 visa centres in Russia and Ukraine respectively.

Naujienų agentūros BNS informaciją skelbti, cituoti ar kitaip atgaminti visuomenės informavimo priemonėse bei interneto tinklalapiuose be raštiško UAB "BNS" sutikimo neleidžiama.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs about fake press release: it was likely a complex cyber-information attack

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania would like to inform you that the Ministry’s...

Lithuania to buy six American Black Hawk helicopters

The leadership of Lithuania's national defense system has decided to buy six American Black Hawk...

Lithuanian army helicopter saves injured Russian citizen from tanker

A Lithuanian army helicopter saved an injured Russian citizen from a tanker , Lithuania's...

Nauseda arrives in Brussels for his 1st EU summit

Lithuanian President Gitanas Nauseda on Thursday arrived in Brussels to attend his first EU...

Russia dismisses reports of possible spy swap with Lithuania and Norway

The spokeswoman for Russia 's Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Thursday said she had no information...