Four new members of the Lithuanian Seimas were sworn in on Tuesday and assumed their positions, replacing four politicians elected to the European Parliament.
Bronius Bradauskas ir Albinas Mitrulevičius
© DELFI / Šarūnas Mažeika

Audrone Jankuviene, representing the ruling Lithuanian Farmers and Greens Union, and Aiste Gedviliene of the opposition conservative Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats were sworn in for the first time.

Vilija Aleknaite-Abramikiene, another HU-LCD member, became an MP for the 7th time. She previously served from 1992 until 2016.

Social Democrat Bronius Bradauskas became a lawmaker for the 5th time after working in the Seimas from 2000 until 2016.

They replaced LFGU member Stasys Jakeliunas, HU-LCD members Rasa Jukneviciene and Andrius Kubilius and Social Democrat Juozas Olekas.

And since Ausra Maldeikiene, who was elected to the Lithuanian parliament in the single-member constituency and was later elected to the European Parliament, a by-election to fill her place will be held on September 8.

It is prohibited to copy and republish the text of this publication without a written permission from UAB „BNS“.

10 unreported moments: Grybauskaite's diplomacy behind-the-scenes

With Dalia Grybauskaite having ended her second term as Lithuanian president, here is a look at her...

Most-advanced US fighter jets land in Lithuania for 1st time

The United States' most-advanced fighter jets F-35 landed in Lithuania on Thursday.

MPs greenlight Rupsys' appointment as chief of defense

The Lithuanian parliament gave on Thursday the green light for the appointment of Major General...

President to nominate Skvernelis for Prime Minister after courtesy resignation

Lithuania's new President Gitanas Nauseda is expected to nominate on Thursday Saulius Skvernelis...

Prime Minister: several ministers to be replaced in Cabinet reshuffle

Lithuanian Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis says more than one ministers will be replaced in the...