Advance voting in the second round of mayoral elections begins in Lithuania on 11 March. Voters can cast their votes at any polling stations in 60 municipalities of Lithuania.
© DELFI / Tomas Vinickas

Advance voting will take place on 11 March and 12 March, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

All voters from municipalities which on 1 March did not elect their mayor straight away in the first round can take part in the advance voting if they cannot come to the polling stations on 15 March - the run-off election day.

Mayors will be elected from the two top supported candidates in the first round in 40 municipalities. Mayors of 19 municipalities became clear on 1 March.

Due to gross violations recorded in the first round of municipal elections in Trakai District, the Central Electoral Commission (VRK) declared the results invalid and decided that a rerun election in Trakai District will take place on 7 June 2015.

On 15 March, Žirmūnai constituency in Vilnius will also elect a replacement for Vytenis Povilas Andriukaitis who left his MP seat at the Seimas for a European Commissioner's post in 2014.

It is forbidden to copy the text of this publication without a written permission from ELTA.

President signs 'spy swap' bill into law

Lithuanian President Gitanas Nauseda has signed into law a bill detailing the president's right to...

Remains of another partisan found in Vilnius

The remains of Lithuanian partisan Juozapas Streikus-Stumbras have been found at Orphans' Cemetery...

Vilnius politicians agree on demolition of kindergarten built on top of Great Synagogue

Vilnius Municipal Council last week deemed the kindergarten built on top of the remains of the...

Lithuania and Poland complete arrangements for state reburial of 1863 insurgents

Representatives of the Lithuanian and Polish government completed earlier this week the last...

Court extends ex-judge's arrest for 2 months

The Kaunas District Court extended on Friday the arrest warrant for Neringa Venckiene for two...